Many eye infections! Let’s look at the 4 month period AFTER surgery!


Many times after my Endoscopic DCR surgery, for blocked tear duct, (inflamed in my case), I was blessed with a few eye and sinus infections.

I will show pictures, so you can see what it looked like!  You can’t always see what a sinus infection looks like other than I look like crap, but I will post some eye pictures.  So, if you are considering this surgery, please research your doctor carefully, before letting him put you under!  Make sure to get one with a great bedside manner.  You may be seeing him more than a few times and the appointments aren’t always pleasant.  Read my other posts.  My Ophthalmologist referred me to an ENT (Ear, Nose & Throat) doctor in my area to perform my Endoscopic DCR through my nose.

The week after my surgery, my face and eye area was swollen.  This is normal, but it still looked horrible to me! I was on heavy pain killers and on bed rest the next few days.  I had to watch for bloody nose, since my procedure was through the nose or endoscopic.

After Endoscopic DCR Surgery (1 day)

The week before my wedding… (3 weeks, after surgery)

Eye infection after Endoscopic DCR

You can see the bacterial infection, redness, and droopiness of my eye!

I got a 875 MG Amoxicillan for this one.

The day before MY WEDDING!  Look how my eye wouldn’t open!  It took me 6 months after the wedding, to be able to go back and post these pictures.  That is how UPSETTING it is to me.  How could the doctor OK surgery like this a month before my wedding. Makes me sick. I really don’t think some people have a heart.  He never diagnosed me with Dacryocystitis or a blocked tear duct.  He went off my other eye exams and word of mouth.  I asked him if the CAT scan showed any stone or blockage in my lacrimal sac/tear duct area and he said “NO”.

Day before my wedding, a month after DCR surgery

My wedding day!  You can see I was having issues with my eye!I was looking once more in the mirror, before walking down the aisle.

You can see my eye is straining/droopy

The week during my honeymoon in MX (with no doctor available)…

I had a sinus infection, but my tube did come out, when I was swimming with the Dolphins! My doctor never warned me of precautions to take with the tube, other than not pulling it out.

Eyes straining, after tube coming out and sinus infection

The week after my honeymoon, another infection, are you KIDDING ME?

Eye infection after DCR

And of course in January (as well as Nov, Dec), my stent/tube came out and gave me trouble.  I had a sinus infection, but my tube did come out, when I was swimming with the Dolphins! My doctor never warned me of precautions to take with the tube, other than not pulling it out. If you wonder what a stent/tube feels like, … hmm, just imagine something always tickling the inside of your nose and the outside of your eye.  After about a month you become immune to it, but that doesn’t mean you won’t get a FOWL odor from your nose from the mild infection that stays stagnant until you get the stent out!  You will feel like you did something to upset GOD after this ordeal.  Pleasant, ummm, NO!

Stent comes Loose!

Stent loose! Ut oh!

~ by bigbrowneyespt on March 30, 2012.

One Response to “Many eye infections! Let’s look at the 4 month period AFTER surgery!”

  1. Do you know anyone who has had the external DCR,,,the incision through the side of the nose? I am having that one, and it freaks me out! How did you make out with your recovery???? Is the tearing of your eye cured?

Leave a Reply

 
